MCI: T: +386 51 231 049  |  E: info@mcidrija.si    HOSTEL: T: +386 40 808 022  |  E: hostel@mcidrija.si

Get to know Marlon, our new team member from Portugal!

četrtek, 20 avgust 2020 15:24

So, Marlon...

1. How would you describe yourself in five words ?

It’s always hard to describe ourselves in X words because we’re never just that, and at times we can be something completely different. But I would consider myself a thoughtful, sincere, communicative, positive and easy-going person.

2. Why did you choose to do an ESE?

I went for Erasmus in Budapest for 6 months and absolutely loved the experience - the possibility of having completely new experiences every other day, meeting people from different backgrounds/cultures and having to adapt to a new reality, far from the ones I know and care about the most, just to name a few. After that, I wanted to have (at least) one more international experience, and I found that a long term ESE is a great opportunity for that. Plus, it’s an opportunity to get involved with other active people trying to improve their community by doing what they can. That, to me, is very honouring.

3. Why did you choose Idrija as welcoming town?

Basically, I wanted to be somewhere far from a big city, just to have this experience and see what it is like to live like this. Then I saw the project in Slovenia and did some research about the city in particular (Idrija). Once I did that, there was no question Idrija was the place to be. I am a nature lover and this city is so green and beautiful with the mountains surrounding it, I just had to come and see it! For 8 months haha.

4. In what way are Portuguese the same as Slovenians?

To be honest, I have not met many Slovenians to make a legit comparison. But, since I have been very well received by my colleagues and everyone I’ve met so far, we definitely have that in common – great hospitality.

5. What do you think about the Idrija Youth Center?

I’m only here for a few days but everyone I met so far has treated me incredibly well (thank you!). I found everything ready for me, from the place where I am staying to an incredibly detailed list of tasks that I will have to develop. Plus, the facilities of the youth center are well taken care of and have a friendly environment.

6. What have you done in the past?

I took a Bachelor’s degree in Human Resources Management from 2015-2018, which then led me to have two internships in the HR field. The first one (2018) was six months long as an HR Generalist and the second was exactly one year (2019-2020) in Talent Acquisition.

7. What do you like to do the most?

I am assuming this question refers to something like a hobby, so my answer is photography/videography. Simply because it is a way of immortalizing a moment forever and people love to keep memories. Moreover, when well done, it can be a form of art and a way to express something that words alone may not be able to convey.

If not, the thing I like to do the most is listening to music (everyday!) and have deep conversations about… anything. Basically, testing my beliefs, opinions or perspectives about a certain topic when there’s room for it; and when that’s not the case, just learn.

8. What is your first impression about Idrija?

A town with incredible views and… incredible views. It seems that regardless of the place you are in the city, the views will be something crazy haha.
I don’t know the socio-economic reality, but I feel like the quality of life must be great when there is so much fresh air and the locals are this connected with nature and with the outdoors.

PRP LEADER EU SLO barvni 1 2